Election Results Indicate No Clear Majority in Parliament

  2 min 22 sec to read
Election Results Indicate No Clear Majority in Parliament

November 24: No political party is likely to secure two-thirds majority in the election to the House of Representatives held on November 20. However, the final results of the election are yet to be announced. The Election Commission has said that the final results will be announced within a few days.

This is the second time that the country held election to the HoR after the establishment of a republican setup in Nepal. During the last general election held in 2017, the leftist alliance led by CPN-UML had secured two-thirds majority in parliament. However, due to internal disputes, the left alliance could not rule for a full five-year term. The leftist government led by KP Sharma Oli fell after the party broke down due to internal dispute while the court failed to recognize the unified left alliance. Subsequently, a new coalition government led by Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba was formed and is still governing the country.

A political party needs to secure 138 seats in the 275-member House of Representatives which includes 165 seats in the first-past-the-post electoral (FTPT) system and 110 seats in proportional representation (PR) category.

But the results obtained so far does not indicate any party will secure majority seats in parliament.

As per the latest results of the EC, the ruling Nepali Congress is ahead in the election. However, the NC  is yet to secure majority seats so far. The NC has won 19 seats of HoR as of Wednesday evening and is leading the vote count in 37 constituencies.

Likewise, the CPN-UML has won seven seats and is ahead in 37 constituencies. Similarly, the newly-formed Rastriya Swatantra Party has secured four seats in the lower house and is leading in five constituencies.

The CPN Maoist Centre, which had formed an electoral alliance with the NC, has so far won three seats in HoR and is ahead in 13 constituencies.

The CPN Unified Socialist  has won two seats and is ahead in seven constituencies. Likewise, Janata Samajbadi Party, Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Nagarik Unnmukti Party and Loktantril Samajbadi Party have each won one seat in the federal parliament.




No comments yet. Be the first one to comment.