13 Outstanding Women Entrepreneurs Honoured

  3 min 38 sec to read
13 Outstanding Women Entrepreneurs Honoured

By Newbiz team

The ‘Standard Chartered NewBiz Business Women Summit & Awards 2023’, organised by New Business Age (P) Ltd with Standard Chartered Bank Nepal as the title sponsor, honoured 13 women entrepreneurs under seven categories. The event took place at Kathmandu on July 7, 2023.

Yankila Sherpa of Snow Leopard Trek was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award for her outstanding contribution to Nepal’s economy. Likewise, Dr Anand Shova Tamrakar, a vermicompost expert, received the title of Social Entrepreneur of the Year. Alisha Shrestha of Amnil Technologies bagged the Woman in Tech of the Year Award, and Sewa Pathak of Vianet was honoured with the Professional Woman of the Year Award. Similarly, the Business Woman of the Year Award went to Padmasana Shakya of Manushi Laghubitta, and Dr Prativa Pandey of CIWEC Hospital received the Woman Entrepreneur of the Year Award.

Meanwhile, seven women entrepreneurs, one from each of the seven provinces, were honoured as the Enterprising Woman Entrepreneur of the Year. Prema Rajya Laxmi Singh, chairperson of National Life Insurance Company, personally contributed cash prizes to the award recipients in this category.

Dina Pradhan of Baari Roastery & Packaging Industry from Koshi Province, Chanchala Das of Women Skill Centre from Madhesh Province, Anushka Shrestha of Lasakusa Food Products from Bagamati Province, Sukun Rasaili BK of Marpha Falful Tatha Tarkari Pashudhan Udyog from Gandaki Province, Bindu Charti Magar of Charti Flora from Lumbini Province, Shila Bishwakarma Nepali of JF Ratna Patthar Prashodhan Kendra from Karnali Province, and Sangita Khadka of PS Travel Point Tours from Sudurpaschim Province received the awards and cash prizes.

The award distribution was preceded by a panel discussion on the theme “Women Entrepreneurship in the Digital Age”. Michael Siddhi, Country Head of Transaction Banking at Standard Chartered Bank Nepal moderated the panel discussion, while Radhika Aryal, Joint Secretary of the Ministry of Industry, Commerce, and Supplies; Seema Golchha, Director of Golchha Group; and Rumee Singh, Co-founder of Rumsan Nepal were the panellists.

The award winners were selected by an independent jury after several rounds of evaluation of the details collected from over 2,000 women entrepreneurs and professionals from across the seven provinces of the country. The jury consisted of Radhesh Pant as chairperson and Barsha Shrestha, Anju Sharma, Ava Shah, and Basanti Pradhan as members.

Minister for Finance Dr Prakash Sharan Mahat was the chief guest of the award distribution program. Likewise, Nepal Rastra Bank’s Governor Maha Prasad Adhikari was the Chief Guest in the first part of the program.

Apart from Standard Chartered Bank Nepal, the program was supported by IME Life Insurance, SALICO (Sagarmatha Lumbini Insurance Company), Salt Trading Corporation, Machhapuchhre Bank, Sun Life Insurance, Reliable Life Insurance, Sitaram Milks, Shangrila Development Bank, Honda Grazia, Agricultural Development Bank, Byanjan, New V.Rohto, and World Link. 


Dr Anand Shova Tamrakar - Social Entrepreneur of the Year (Vermicompost Expert)

Alisha Shrestha - Woman in Tech of the Year (Amnil Technologies Pvt. Ltd)

Sewa Pathak - Professional Woman of the Year (Vianet Communication)

Padmasana Shakya - Business Woman of the Year (Manushi Laghubitta)

Dr Prativa Pandey - Woman Entrepreneur of the Year (CIWEC Hospital)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Yankila Sherpa - Snow Leopard Trek

Enterprising Women Entrepreneurs of the Year

Dina Pradhan - Koshi Province (Baari Roastery & Packaging Uddhyog, Biratnagar)

Chanchala Das - Madhesh Province (Women's Skill Center Pvt. Ltd. Birgunj)

Anushka Shrestha - Bagmati Province (Lasakusa Food Products Pvt.Ltd. Kathmandu)

Sukun Rasaili BK - Gandaki Province (Marpha Falful Tatha Tarkari Udhog, Mustang)

Bindu Charti Magar - Lumbini Province (Charti Flora, Nepaljung)

Shila Bishwakarma Nepali - Karnali Province (JF Ratna Patthar Prashodhan Kendra, Jajarkot)

Sangita Khadka - Sudurpashchim Province (PS Travel Point Tours Pvt.Ltd., Dhangadhi)


  • Compliance with Regulations
  • Social Impact/Contribution to Economy
  • Background and Public image
  • Innovation & Use of Technology
  • Jury Discretion

No comments yet. Be the first one to comment.