NA Election for Vacant Posts to be Held on January 25   

  2 min 9 sec to read
NA Election for Vacant Posts to be Held on January 25   

November 30: The government has decided to hold the National Assembly elections on January 25.    
A meeting of the Council of Ministers held at the Singha Durbar-based Office of Prime Minister and Council of Ministers took a decision to this effect on Wednesday, according to Minister for Communications and Information Technology, Rekha Sharma.    
Sharma, who is also the government’s spokesperson, informed RSS that the decision was taken in consultation with the Election Commission.    
It may be noted that the terms of one third of the NA members i.e. 20 parliamentarians including Chairperson Ganesh Prasad Timilsina will be ending on March 3 next year.    
The outgoing parliamentarians are Anita Devkota, Jitendra Narayan Dev, Prakash Pantha and Ramesh Jung Raymajhi from Nepali Congress, Indu Kadariya, Deepa Gurung, Dil Kumari Rawal, Kumar Dasaudi, Narpati Luwar, Bhairav Sundar Shrestha and Ramchandra Rai from CPN (UML).    
Similarly, the tenure of Bina Pokharel, Mahesh Kumar Mahara and Hariram Chaudhary from CPN (Maoist Centre), Pramila Kumari of Janata Samajwadi Party, Nanda Chapagain and Singh Bahadur Bishwakarma of CPN (Unified Socialist), independent parliamentarian Khimlal Devkota and nominated parliamentarian Dr Bimala Paudyal is coming to an end.    
Meanwhile, Minister Sharma further shared that the government decided to mobilize security agencies for construction of temporary shelters for quake survivors in Jajarkot.    
A 6.4 magnitude quake jolted on November 3 in some districts of Karnali Province with epicenter in Jajarkot district inflicting a massive loss of lives and properties.    
Sharma said that additional human resources would be deployed in the quake affected areas for construction of such shelters if demand is made from the Chief District Officers. -- RSS  

No comments yet. Be the first one to comment.